Canadian Business Media Awards 2016
in memory of Kenneth R. Wilson 
The CBM Awards recognize the outstanding editorial efforts of business-to-business media content.
  • Jan 11: Call for Entries Opens
  • Feb 8: Early-bird Deadline
  • Feb 16: Call for Entries Closes
  • May 5: Nominees Announced
  • June 7: CBM Awards Gala


View the photos from the 62nd annual CBM Awards gala on our Facebook Page




Announcing the 2016 CBM Award Winners 


Canadian Business Media is proud to announce the winners of the 62nd annual CBM Awards in memory of Kenneth R. Wilson for B2B magazine publishing.


Gold, Silver and Honourable Mention awards were presented in 21 written, visual, integrated and special categories during this evening’s gala at the Grand Banking Hall at One King West in Toronto, hosted by D.B. Scott, president of Impresa Communications.



         [ Download Winners List ] [ Blog Post ] 



         [ Read Press Release ]  




The winner of the prestigious Magazine of the Year is:




“Trade magazines today need to be indispensable brands in the lives of audiences. Marketing, with its twice-daily e-newsletter bulletins, more than a dozen events and award shows and a considered, dense and meticulously crafted print product is a vital piece of the Canadian marketer’s arsenal.” - the CBM Jury


BCBusiness and The Medical Post received an honourable mention.





The CBM Awards added a new category this year, Best Media Brand. Winning this award for the first time is:




“Precedent takes an insider’s stance and targets a younger audience hungry for more accessible content. They serve it up through multiple channels in a really consistent way. Its cheeky tone, voice and visual expression challenge conventional legal media.” - the CBM Jury


University Affairs and Lexpert received an honourable mention for Best Media Brand. 



Harvey Southam Award for Career Achievement 

The Harvey Southam Award was presented to Michel Dongois, senior journalist at Profession Santé. Recognized for his outstanding professionalism, integrity and humanism, Mr. Dongois received this prestigious honour at the CBM Awards ceremony.



Top Winning Magazines at the 62nd Canadian Business Media Awards: 


Magazine Gold Silver Honourable Mention
University Affairs 4 0 4
CPA Magazine 3 3 19
Professionally Speaking/Pour parler profession 2 4 10
Precedent 2 2 3
The Medical Post 1 1 5
Marketing 1 1 4
Canadian Grocer 1 2 2
Advisor's Edge 1 1 2
Canadian Lawyer 1 0 3
Canadian HR Reporter
Le Coopérateur agricole 1
Le Médecin du Québec 1
 OPC Register


Also winning a Silver award are D&A Magazine, BC Business, FranchiseCanada, Lexpert, Canadian Architect, Better Farming, Les Affaires and Listed.



Best Issue 


Gold: University Affairs                                                                     Silver: Professionally Speaking


Best Art Direction of a Complete Issue


Gold: Precedent                                                                                         Silver: Precedent


Best Cover 


Gold: University Affairs                                           Silver: BCBusiness 


The CBM Awards added another new category this year, Best In-House Cover. Winning this award for the first time is:


Gold: Advisor's Edge                                                                                 Silver: FranchiseCanada 


Highlights for Written Awards: 


The magazine with the most gold winners is University Affairs, which won gold for Best Issue, Best Cover, Best Photograph and Best Art Direction of an Opening Spread or Complete Feature.


Ranking second is CPA Magazine with three gold medals in Best How-To or Series of How-To Articles, Best Profile of a Company and Best Infrastructure/Resource Article. The magazine also won three silver awards in Best How-To Article or Series of How-To Articles, Best One-Of-A-Kind Article and Best Profile of a Company, and earned nineteen honourable mentions in written, visual and integrated categories.


Winning both gold and silver in the Best Marketing/Merchandising Article category is Canadian Grocer. CPA Magazine took the gold and silver awards in both the Best How-To Article or Series of How-To Articles and Best Profile of a Company categories. Precedent took home both the gold and silver awards in Best Art Direction of a Complete Issue.


This year there were three categories that had a tie for silver winners: Best One-Of-A-Kind Article, Best Regularly Feature Department or Column and Best Profile of a Person.





We wish to thank all those who participated this year, and extend our congratulations to the deserving winners and finalists for their exceptional contribution to the Canadian B2B community.







The 62nd annual CBM Awards in memory of Kenneth R. Wilson Awards were produced by the Canadian Business Media, a nation-wide trade association that represents the business-to-business media industry in Canada. Through its membership-based model, CBM has introduced a suite of services tailored to serving the needs of B2B publishers in the country.


Canadian Business Media would like to acknowledge the support of the Government of Canada through the Canadian Periodical Fund.


The CBM Awards would like to thank the generous sponsors of the 62nd annual awards: Brainmetal, Canada Post, CBM, CNW Group and Impresa Communications.





Like us on Facebook 


Follow CBM on the B2Blog and on Twitter @CdnBizMedia



Not Subscribed? Click here to receive the KRW Newsletter in your inbox.

Unsubscribe? Please click here if you wish to no longer receive the KRW newsletter.